Odisha Map

odisha-mapOdisha is one of the 28 states of India. Bhubaneswar is the capital of Orissa or Odisha .on April 1, 1936 the contemporary state was formed . The city of Cuttack served as the capital of the state till 1948. Bhubaneswar is also denominated as the Temple City.

Area and population of Orissa

The total range of the state is 60,160 sq miles or 155,820 km2. According to the demographics conducted in 2011, the population of Orissa is 41,947,358. In terms of population, the state is the eleventh biggest state in India and in terms of area, it holds the ninth rank.

Demographic features of Orissa

About 50.54% of the population of the state are male (21,201,678) and 49.46% of the population are female (20,745,680). The frequency of population in the state is 269/ km2. About 94.35% of the population are Hindus, 2.07% are Muslims, 2.44% are Christians, and other communities is revealed by only 1.14%.Oriya is the official language of the state . Hindi, Bengali, Santali, and Telugu are Other languages spoken in the state . The education rate is 73.45% (as per 2011 census.)

Districts of Orissa

The districts of the state are as follows: Angul, Boudh, Bhadrak, Bolangir, Bargarh, Balasore, Cuttack (Kataka), Debagarh, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Jharsuguda, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Khordha, Keonjhar, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Koraput, Kendrapara, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Nayagarh, Puri, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Subarnapur, and Sundargarh.

Major cities in Orissa

Other than Bhubaneswar and Cuttack, the major cities in Orissa are Rourkela, Brahmapur, Bolangir, Sambalpur, Kendrapara, Balasore, and Puri.

The Orissa Government

At present, the Honourable Chief Minister Sri Naveen Pattanaik, the Honourable Governor of the state is SC Jamir and there are 147 seats in the Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) of the state. The Legislative Assembly of the state in nature is unmoral. The altitude court of the state is the Orissa High Court in Cuttack.

Geographical features of Orissa

The state structures a part of the eastern seacoast of India. The coastline of the state is comparatively uninterrupted and the length of this coastline is approximately 480 km. Physiographically, the state can be divided into the following areas:

  • The rocky and highland areas in the center
  • The coastline grassland to the east
  • The rolling highlands to the west
  • The flat land in the middle
  • The important flood sink

Rivers of Orissa

The major rivers of Orissa are as follows:

Mahanadi (the longest river of the state), Kathajodi, Brahmani, Baitarani, Budhabalanga, Rushikulya, Vanshadhara, Bahuda, Nagavali, Kolab, Indravati, Salandi, and Tel Rivers.

In addition, there are a number of spectacular lakes in the state that are top tourist draws like the Chilka Lake, Pata Lake, Anshupa Lake, Indravati Dam, and Hirakud Dam.

Economy of Orissa

The state setup a strong economy with fruitfulness of natural resources and an inclusive coastline. The state is well-off in natural resources like coal, bauxite, iron ore, and chromite. Steel manufacturing is a major industry in the state. Other industries include transportation, oil refinery, power, information technology and aluminum.

Educational institutes in Orissa

Given below are the names of the popular educational institutes in the state of Orissa:

Biju Patnaik University of Technology at Rourkela, Berhampur University at Berhampur, C. V. Raman College of Engineering, Bhubaneswar, Central University of Orissa, Koraput, IIT Bhubaneswar at Bhubaneswar, Fakir Mohan University at Balasore, National Institute of Science and Technology at Berhampur, KIIT University in Bhubaneswar, National Institute of Technology Rourkela at Rourkela, National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar, North Orissa University at Baripada, National Law University, Orissa in Cuttack, Ravenshaw University in Cuttack, Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT) at Bhubaneshwar, Siksha O Anusandhan University, Sambalpur University, Sambalpur, Sri Jagannatha Sanskrit University, Puri, Silicon Institute of Technology, M.K.C.G. Medical College, Berhampur, Government Ayurvedic College, Bolangir, SCB Dental College in Cuttack, SCB Medical College in Cuttack, Veer Surendra Sai Medical College, Burla, Sri Sri University in Cuttack, Utkal University of Culture at Bhubaneswar, Utkal University (at Bhubaneswar), Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology, Burla and Vedanta University.

Tourist charm in Orissa

The top tourist charm in Orissa are as follows:

The Lingaraj Temple at Bhubaneswar, Chilka Lake, Daringbadi (Darjeeling of Odisha (Orissa) ), Pipli, the Sun Temple at Konark, Jagannath Temple (Puri), Udayagiri and Khandagiri Caves, Gharial altar at Tikarpada, Ambapani Wildlife altar, Bhitar Kanika National Park, Nandan Kanan National Park, Sunabeda Wildlife altar, Belghar Wildlife altar, Chandka Elephant Reserve, Ushakothi or Badarama Wildlife altar, Chilika Wildlife altar, Satkosia Gorge Wildlife altar, Gahirmatha Turtle Sanctuary and Simlipal National Park for Tigers). The well-known Shiva Temple(Kapilash) is closely located to Dhenkanal.

The famous sea beaches in the state which are also most popular tourist attractions and include Gopalpur-on-Sea, Puri Beach, Ramachandi Beach, Chandipur Beach, Astarang (Pir jahania) Beach, Balighai Beach, and Paradeep Beach.


Request a call back

Call Now